Blog         FAQ      

 Home > Cisco > CCENT

CCENT (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) Certification


CCNA Certification exam details       CCNA practice test download      CCNA practice test order page


Cisco recently announced new CCNA track of exams. According to the new track, one can achieve CCNA in either of two ways:

  1.  Pass the CCNA exam (exam code:640-802) directly, or

  2.  Pass two exams, namely ICND1 (exam code: 640-822 ) and ICND2 (exam code: 640-816)

After passing ICND1, you will be awarded CCNT certification. If you are experienced, you can always take single exam (640-802) track.

1. What is CCENT (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) Certification?

CCENT Certification is awarded by Cisco Systems® and signifies the competency achieved in installing, configuring, and operating LAN, and simple WAN networks (100 nodes or fewer), including use of these protocols: RIP v1, and RIP v2. The certification exams are computer based, and conducted by VUE testing centers. The certification, being widely recognized, offers improved job prospects in the field of LAN, and WAN infrastructure installation and maintenance using Cisco, and compatible equipment. There are no pre-requisites for taking this exam. The only requirement being payment of exam fee, which is about US$ 125. The CCENT certification is composed of 1 (ONE) individual exam, i.e. ICND1 (short form for Interconnecting Cisco Network Devices).  The exam code for the CCENT exam is 640-822. The test contains identification and situational questions, in addition to Flash based simulation questions. We have provided several of these questions at appropriate ccna certification pages on this website.

The exam tests a candidate's knowledge and skills required to successfully install, operate, and troubleshoot a small branch office network. The exam includes topics on networking fundamentals; connecting to a WAN; basic security and wireless concepts; routing and switching fundamentals; the TCP/IP and OSI models; IP addressing; WAN technologies; operating and configuring IOS devices; configuring RIPv2, static and default routing; implementing NAT and DHCP; and configuring simple networks.

2. What are the test requirements?

As mentioned previously, to attain CCENT certification, you must pass only one exam, i.e ICND1, exam code: 640-822. Broadly, the exam objectives are given below:

CCENT exam objectives:

  1. Describe the operation of data networks.
  2. Implement a small switched network
  3. Implement an IP addressing scheme and IP services to meet network requirements for a small branch office
  4. Implement a small routed network
  5. Explain and select the appropriate administrative tasks required for a WLAN
  6. Identify security threats to a network and describe general methods to mitigate those threats
  7. Implement and verify WAN links

Note that access lists, OSPF, BGP, and Frame-relay are not covered in the exam (ICND1).

The practice tests provided by covers the exam objectives thoroughly, and help in passing the exams first time. You can down load the CCENT practice test here.

3. How do I prepare for CCNA Certification?

Please visit the  page CCNA preparation written by our Cisco section guide.

4. Other CCENT Certification FAQ:

    How long will it take to prepare for CCENT certification exam?

     If you are preparing for CCENT exams yourself (self learning), it is likely to take about 2-3 months of preparation (Assuming 3-4 hours of study per day). However, please note that the preparation time greatly depends on your background. If you are already involved in the networking technologies such as LANs, WANs, you may find it easy, and may require only a few weeks of preparation. On the other hand, if you are new to networking technologies, it may take about 3 months (assuming you don't take any formal classroom coaching). 

What is the format in which the exams are delivered?

The exams are computer based, and include the following question types:

Multiple choice single answer questions
Multiple choice multiple answer questions
drag-n-drop questions
Exhibit based questions
Flash simulations.

How long the certification is valid?

The certifications offered by Cisco Systems have limited validity (unlike Comptia exams, which have lifetime validity). The validity of Cisco certifications is usually of 3 years. You need to re-certify or achieve next level of certification to retain validity after 3 years.

What other certifications are available from Cisco Systems?

The other certification available are CCDA, CCNP, CCDP, CCIE, and others.

Note: It is recommended to check with the official website for accurate and up-to-date information.


Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2000-2019 All rights reserved

Website design by

Disclaimer: All Simulation Exams practice tests, study guides and/or material are neither sponsored by, nor endorsed by, nor affiliated with Cisco® Systems or any other company. All trademarks are trademarks of their respective owners and duly  acknowledged. CCNA™, CCENT™, ICND2™, CCNP™, CCIE™ are registered trade marks of Cisco® Systems. The practice tests material is a copyright of and the same is not approved or endorsed by respective certifying bodies. Thank-you for your interest in Simulation Exams. Please see read me file before you download, install, and/or use any software from  For any information or questions regarding this Website, please e-mail webmaster at