Blog         FAQ      

 Home > Cisco > CCNP

Cisco® CCNP (Cisco® Certified Network Professional) Practice Tests


About CCNP™ certification:  

CCNP - Cisco Certified Network Professional is an advanced level Cisco certification. Getting CCNP certified ensures that the candidate is knowledgeable to plan, configure, and operate routed WAN, switched LAN, and Remote Access networks using Cisco products. A CCNP certified professional is proficient and have working or advanced knowledge with TCP/IP, IPX, and AppleTalk network environments. The routing protocols covered under CCNP include RIP v1, RIP v2, IGRP, EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS, BGP (both iBGP and eBGP), AppleTalk, and IPX routing. CCNP certified professionals can work with complex (100 - 500 nodes) LAN/WAN technologies including Ethernet, Token Ring, FDDI, X.25, Frame Relay, and ATM. 

CCNP™ constituent exams: 

CCNP certification is awarded by Cisco® on passing four individual exams as below:

1. CCNP BSCI Exam BSCI 642-801, 640-901(retired)

2. CCNP Switching Exam (SWTCH 640-604) 

3. CCNP Remote Access Exam (RMTAC 640-605) 

4. CCNP Support Exam (SUPRT 640-606)

Please note that the exam CCNP/CCIP BSCI Exam replaces the earlier Routing exam (640-901). The exam 640-901 is no longer available. Note that the exams BSCI 642-801 (old 640-901), Switching 642-811 (old 640-604), and Remote Access 642-821 (old 640-605) also count toward CCDP certification.

Alternately, CCNP can be achieved by passing the following three exams. 

1. 642-891 Composite

2. 642-821 BCRAN

3. 642-831 CIT

The following track was available till recently and since been discontinued:

1. 640-841 Foundations Exam - Note that the exam 640-841 replaces the earlier Foundations exam 640-509. The syllabus for 640-841 is cumulative syllabus of CCNP BSCI, CCNP Switching, CCNP Remote Access exams. Therefore, it is relatively difficult to prepare for the Foundations exam. Unless you have a good hands on experience with Cisco routers, switches, and access servers it is recommended to take individual exams. The exam 640-841 Foundations also count toward CCDP certification. 

2. 640-606 Support Exam

Pre-requisites for appearing for CCNP™ certification: 

A candidate aspiring to become a CCNP need to pass CCNA - Cisco Certified Network Associate exam as this is a pre-requisite for obtaining CCNP. 

IV. Validity of CCNP™ certification: 

CCNP certification is valid for a period of 3 years. A CCNP certified candidate is required to re-certify within a period of 3 years. The certification validity is renewed automatically if 1. By upgrading the certification level (say by obtaining CCIE) or 2. By getting re-certified. A CCNP candidate is recertified by passing the 642-891 Composite (old: "640-851 CCNP Recertification") exam. Also, re-certifying at CCNP level automatically renews CCNA certification validity also.

V. Product pages: 

Please click on the hyperlink to go to the product page or download:

1. Cisco CCNP BSCI Exam (BSCI 642-801 old:640-901)

2. Cisco CCNP Switching Exam (SWTCH 640-604)

3. Cisco CCNP Remote Access Exam (RMTAC 640-605)

4. Cisco CCNP Support Exam (SUPRT 640-606)

For any suggestions or comments please e-mail webmaster 

Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2000-2019 All rights reserved

Website design by

Disclaimer: All Simulation Exams practice tests, study guides and/or material are neither sponsored by, nor endorsed by, nor affiliated with Cisco® Systems or any other company. All trademarks are trademarks of their respective owners and duly  acknowledged. CCNA™, CCENT™, ICND2™, CCNP™, CCIE™ are registered trade marks of Cisco® Systems. The practice tests material is a copyright of and the same is not approved or endorsed by respective certifying bodies. Thank-you for your interest in Simulation Exams. Please see read me file before you download, install, and/or use any software from  For any information or questions regarding this Website, please e-mail webmaster at